Another Kiwi! baldtankman aka Mark

baldtankman

Wonderpus
Registered
Hi,

SOS pointed out that I have never introduced myself so here goes.

Hi all I am baldtankman aka Mark Fenwick. Until recently I worked at Te Papa as a tech, to help fund my studies at Uni.

I worked with Bruce Marshall on a few things, (he basically dragged me through my thesis, the genetics of the NZ freshwater mussels) one of those being giant squids. Bruce introduced me to SOS and I have had a great time with Steve and Kat on a few projects over the years.

Anyway I now work as a benthic ecology tech at NIWA the NZ national institute of water and atmosphere where I hope to see a lot more Ceph's and maybe do some more work on squids!

Cheers
Mark
:yinyang::talker:

You mentioned in another thread that you did "fourier curve analysis" on mussels... I know what fourier analysis is to some extent, but not how to use it for 3d or 2d curves like mussel shells, so I'm curious about the details? Do you transform the shell's shape into polar coordinates and then do fourier analaysis on the radius, or something like that? Or do a 2-d FFT on a picture of the shell? or something else entirely?

baldtankman;127855 said:
Anyway I now work as a benthic ecology tech at NIWA the NZ national institute of water and atmosphere where I hope to see a lot more Ceph's and maybe do some more work on squids!
:smile: So, you're branching into squid Mark. Good choice. If you're ever out on the boats I'm mad keen on getting any Teuthowenia (cranchiid) that comes in, regardless of its condition. Jens Horstkotte is (re)joining us in January '09 to do his PhD on the group, starting in NZ and then moving further afied (southern oceans stuff), systematic review. (His Masters was on histioteuthids.)

Times are good down here in lil' ol' NZ, as far as systematics of cephalopods is concerned.

monty;127860 said: