• Looking to buy a cephalopod? Check out Tomh's Cephs Forum, and this post in particular shares important info about our policies as it relates to responsible ceph-keeping.

S. Officinalis and GPO?

austin8362

Cuttlefish
Registered
I'm currently a student in the Oregon Coast Community College Aquarium Science Program. For our life support class, we are building a temperate cephalopod system. The system consists of two 250ish gallon fiberglass tanks.
photo1_zps87a7a126.jpg

photo2_zpsb60853d4.jpg

In the first tank, we plan on housing locally collected juvenile GPO's before they head to the Oregon Coast Aquarium or the Hatfield Marine Science Center. In the second tank, we have been discussing keeping S. Officinalis. Does anyone see any problem keeping them in the same system? Thoughts on the optimal temperature to keep both happy?

On raising S. Officinalis, how different are they from raising bandensis? The amount of food is not an issue as we are located on the Oregon Coast,:smile: but I want to make sure I have a steady supply of appropriately sized foods.

In the beginning I'll be raising these guys in our smaller coldwater invert system, but how many adults would be appropriate in this size tank?

Thanks!

Sadly, I can be of NO help but wanted to encourage you to post updates on both tanks. It would also be terrific if you could get the students to join and make notes on the keeping aspects :wink:

Hmm, definitely nice looking setup. I think the officinalis will probably out grow those tanks quickly depending on how many you are looking to get. They get fairly large, and live about a year with the cooler temps. Max Size can definitely be about a foot or so. Nothing really different with raising them as opposed to bandensis except for the size and amount of food you would need. They can be conditioned to frozen shrimp pretty quickly once they mature and can be fed live foods in tandem with frozen shrimp.