Julian - O. ?

Hey everybody! Meet Julian! Eating a shrimp! Not sure if he's a crescent or o. Cyan. Caught him at sunset near kahala during low tide. What do you think?

aefdc39e-1823-4637.jpg

aefdc39e-1880-de38.jpg

It looks really great when you back off and only see the octopus surrounded by black. It looks like its just floating in the abyss. Beautiful. I'm not sure about cyanea. They eyes look really large, but I am by no means an expert. I'm so jealous. I wish I lived in an area like that where I can go out and catch such beautiful animals so easily. I used to live in Japan, but that was only for a year. I would love to go back.

Julian's tank build out can be found in the tank talks forum

A couple of things you might record to try for an id:

Arm to mantle ratio
actual size (use mantle is the size of a ... rather than trying to come up with a number)
Have you ever seen an eyespot (ocellus) just under the eyes on the webbing?

You will want to get a red light for night viewing. If this is a nocturnal, the white light will deter viewing where we have found most nocturnals accept red (I leave mine on 24/7 when I have a nocturnal) and you can see but not photograph the animal in a comfortable lighting.

I have been watching for the false eye spots but he hasn't displayed any signs of it yet. I took the video this morning and he seemed very active. I'll see what he's up to when I get home and try to post more pics. He displays a lot of different patterns and textures. When at rest he is usually a tan color with a spiked texture. I am leaning more towards crescent than cyanea. I will be happy with either since very little seems to be known about the crescent and he very well may be the only specimen in captivity. However, if he is a crescent he is probably near full grown and may not have much time left. Does anyone here have any knowledge/experience with crescents?